Book discussion: Rebel


Book Title: Rebel

Author: Amy Tintera

Genre: YA Sci-fi/Dystopian

★★★★★

The sequel to the action-packed Reboot is a can’t-miss thrill ride, perfect for fans of James Patterson, Veronica Roth, and Marie Lu.After coming back from death as Reboots and being trained by HARC as soldiers, Wren and Callum have finally escaped north, where they hope to find a life of freedom. But when they arrive at the Reboot Reservation, it isn’t what they expected. Under the rule of a bloodthirsty leader, Micah, the Reboots are about to wage an all-out war on the humans. Although Wren’s instincts are telling her to set off into the wilderness on their own and leave the battle far behind, Callum is unwilling to let his human family be murdered. When Micah commits the ultimate betrayal, the choice is made for them. But Micah has also made a fatal mistake . . . he’s underestimated Wren and Callum.

The explosive finale to the Reboot duology is full of riveting action and steamy love scenes as Wren and Callum become rebels against their own kind.
– Goodreads

 
[This is a sequel to Reboot so if you haven’t read Reboot yet, please don’t spoil yourself.]

It’s a DUOLOGY not a trilogy. WOW. It surprised me. This book is EPIC. THRILLING. And the ending is beautiful. Tintera did a really good job wrapping up the story.

Rebel is better than Reboot, as you can see from my ratings. I usually have trouble enjoying books with duo/multiple pov, but it turned out alright this time. I was worried that either Wren or Callum would die, because

*SPOILER FOR ALLEGIANT*

Tris dies in Allegiant and that’s one of the reasons why Veronica Roth wrote the book in duo pov.

*SPOILER DONE*

I got to the point where Callum was shot and I saw chapter thirty-nine Callum’s BLANK. And I was like ‘NO NO HE CAN’T DIE THIS IS NOT HAPPENING’ (sorry for all the caps) I thought he was dead and it turned out that he is shot in the eye. (Phew)

The character development, again, is well done. Callum leads the Reboots with the absence of Wren and learns that his number doesn’t define himself. Wren, too, forgets about her number towards the end of the book. Wren refuses to kill Officer Mayer- she tells herself that she won’t kill someone just because she could. To her, killing Micah’s not even a victory. She changes from a ‘killer’ under HARC’s control to a girl who doesn’t even want to carry a gun.

By the way, I can’t decide which cover is better, Reboot or Rebel. I like both colour combinations and the futuristic designs. *Pat the book*

On the whole, this book is REALLY GOOD. Things keep happening and I flew through it quickly. This is probably one of the best sci-fi books I’ve read this year.

If you’ve read the series, what do you think? Do you like Rebel more than Reboot, or vice versa?

Book discussion: Reboot


Book Title: Reboot

Author: Amy Tintera

Genre: YA Sci-fi/Dystopian

★★★★

Five years ago, Wren Connolly was shot three times in the chest. After 178 minutes she came back as a Reboot: stronger, faster, able to heal, and less emotional. The longer Reboots are dead, the less human they are when they return. Wren 178 is the deadliest Reboot in the Republic of Texas. Now seventeen years old, she serves as a soldier for HARC (Human Advancement and Repopulation Corporation).Wren’s favorite part of the job is training new Reboots, but her latest newbie is the worst she’s ever seen. As a 22, Callum Reyes is practically human. His reflexes are too slow, he’s always asking questions, and his ever-present smile is freaking her out. Yet there’s something about him she can’t ignore. When Callum refuses to follow an order, Wren is given one last chance to get him in line—or she’ll have to eliminate him. Wren has never disobeyed before and knows if she does, she’ll be eliminated, too. But she has also never felt as alive as she does around Callum.

The perfect soldier is done taking orders.

– Goodreads

This book is a page-turner. The story is fast-paced, gripping and action-packed. AND THE COVER. Just take a moment and admire the cover. It’s SO beautiful.

I love the character development of Wren. At first, being the least human reboot in HARC, she thought she had no emotion at all. She could not tolerate anyone who screams. She couldn’t cry. However, once Callum come into her life, she changes. It is him who notices Wren when she shows her emotion, and he is the only one who’s not afraid of her. She has found her human side.

The idea of Reboots is original and interesting. Reboots are not cyborgs or robots, even though I kept picturing them as cyborgs. Well, the similarity between Reboots and Zombies is that you have to shoot them in the head in order to kill them.

[Fun fact: I was eating when I got to the point where Callum turns into a human-eating monster and I lost my appetite for a few seconds.]

The reason why I didn’t give it a five out of five stars is because of the romance. The couple is cute and sweet, however, it escalates too quickly. It’s not an instalove, but still. It’s also kind of weird, because Reboots’ supposed to be less emotional than humans, yet Wren and Callum still have strong feelings for each other, like humans. Maybe Tintera want us readers to understand that as long as we have human inside us, no matter if it’s a lot or a little, we still have emotions. And maybe love is the strongest emotion (?)

Anyway, it’s a really enjoyable book, and I’ll definitely continue with the series. In fact, I’m reading Rebel right now for the 2nd book in the sunathon.