Waiting on Wednesday: The Girl at the Center of the World by Austin Aslan

wow

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine

∞ ϟ 9¾ ♔ ⚯͛ △⃒⃘ ➵ ♆

My ‘waiting on’ pick this week is:

 

Book Title: The Girl at the Center of the World

Author: Austin Aslan

Publication Date: 4th August, 2015

 

As sixteen-year-old Leilani and her family learn to live without electronics, farming the land as her ancestors did, she finds strength in her relatives, her friendships, and her strange connection to the Emerald Orchid–the force whose presence caused global devastation–but suffers regret over what she must do to survive.

An exciting and satisfying sequel that continues the thrilling ideas and adventure of THE ISLANDS AT THE END OF THE WORLD.

Native Hawaiian mythology and history is beautifully intertwined in the story.

An eco-thriller by an expert: great choice for dystopian fans who want a new spin. The author has a masters in tropical conservation biology from the University of Hawaii-Hilo.
– Goodreads

 

∞ ϟ 9¾ ♔ ⚯͛ △⃒⃘ ➵ ♆

 

Waiting on Wednesday: The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

width=

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine

∞ ϟ 9¾ ♔ ⚯͛ △⃒⃘ ➵ ♆

My ‘waiting on’ pick this week is:

 

Book Title: The Wrong side of Right

Author: Jenn Marie Thorne

Publication Date: 17/3/2015

 

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin.

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.
– Goodreads

 

Waiting on Wednesday: Read Between the Lines by Jo Knowles

width=

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine

∞ ϟ 9¾ ♔ ⚯͛ △⃒⃘ ➵ ♆

My ‘waiting on’ pick this week is:

 

Book Title: Read Between the Lines

Author: Jo Knowles

Publication Date: 10/3/2015

 

Does anyone ever see us for who we really are? Jo Knowles’s revelatory novel of interlocking stories peers behind the scrim as it follows nine teens and one teacher through a seemingly ordinary day.

Thanks to a bully in gym class, unpopular Nate suffers a broken finger—the middle one, splinted to flip off the world. It won’t be the last time a middle finger is raised on this day. Dreamer Claire envisions herself sitting in an artsy café, filling a journal, but fate has other plans. One cheerleader dates a closeted basketball star; another questions just how, as a “big girl,” she fits in. A group of boys scam drivers for beer money without remorse—or so it seems. Over the course of a single day, these voices and others speak loud and clear about the complex dance that is life in a small town. They resonate in a gritty and unflinching portrayal of a day like any other, with ordinary traumas, heartbreak, and revenge. But on any given day, the line where presentation and perception meet is a tenuous one, so hard to discern. Unless, of course, one looks a little closer—and reads between the lines.
– Goodreads

 

Waiting on Wednesday: The Third Twin by C.J. Omololu

width=

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine

∞ ϟ 9¾ ♔ ⚯͛ △⃒⃘ ➵ ♆

My ‘waiting on’ pick this week is:

 

Book Title: The Third Twin

Author: C.J. Omololu

Publication Date: 24/2/2015

 

Identical twins. Identical DNA. Identical suspects. It’s Pretty Little Liarsmeets Revenge in this edge-of-your-seat thriller with a shocking twist.

When they were little, Lexi and her identical twin, Ava, made up a third sister, Alicia. If something broke? Alicia did it. Cookies got eaten? Alicia’s guilty. Alicia was always to blame for everything. The game is all grown up now that the girls are seniors. They use Alicia as their cover to go out with boys who are hot but not exactly dating material. Boys they’d never, ever be with in real life.

Now one of the guys Alicia went out with has turned up dead, and Lexi wants to stop the game for good. As coincidences start piling up, Ava insists that if they follow the rules for being Alicia, everything will be fine. But when another boy is killed, the DNA evidence and surveillance photos point to only one suspect: Alicia. The girl who doesn’t exist. As she runs from the cops, Lexi has to find the truth before another boy is murdered. Because either Ava is a killer…or Alicia is real.
– Goodreads

 

Waiting on Wednesday: Cut Me Free by J.R. Johansson

width=

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine

∞ ϟ 9¾ ♔ ⚯͛ △⃒⃘ ➵ ♆

My ‘waiting on’ pick this week is:

 

Book Title: Cut Me Free

Author: J.R. Johansson

Publication Date: 27/1/2015

 

Seventeen-year-old Charlotte barely escaped from her abusive parents. Her little brother, Sam, wasn’t as lucky. Now she’s trying to begin the new life she always dreamed of for them, but never thought she’d have to experience alone. She’s hired a techie-genius with a knack for forgery to remove the last ties to her old life. But while she can erase her former identity, she can’t rid herself of the memories. And her troubled history won’t let her ignore the little girl she sees one day in the park. The girl with the bruises and burn marks.That’s when Charlotte begins to receive the messages. Threatening notes left in her apartment–without a trace of entry. And they’re addressed to Piper, her old name. As the messages grow in frequency, she doesn’t just need to uncover who is leaving them; she needs to stop whoever it is before anyone else she loves ends up dead.
– Goodreads

 

Waiting on Wednesday: The Way We Bared Our Souls by Willa Strayhorn

width=

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine

∞ ϟ 9¾ ♔ ⚯͛ △⃒⃘ ➵ ♆

My ‘waiting on’ pick this week is:

 

Book Title: The Way We Bared Our Souls

Author: Willa Strayhorn

Publication Date: 22/1/2015

 

If you could trade your biggest burden for someone else’s, would you do it?

Five teenagers sit around a bonfire in the middle of the New Mexico desert. They don’t know it yet, but they are about to make the biggest sacrifice of their lives.

Lo has a family history of MS, and is starting to come down with all the symptoms.
Thomas, a former child soldier from Liberia, is plagued by traumatic memories of his war-torn past.
Kaya would do anything to feel physical pain, but a rare condition called CIP keeps her numb.
Ellen can’t remember who she was before she started doing drugs.
Kit lost his girlfriend in a car accident and now he just can’t shake his newfound fear of death.

When they trade totems as a symbol of shedding and adopting one another’s sorrows, they think it’s only an exercise.

But in the morning, they wake to find their burdens gone…and replaced with someone else’s.

As the reality of the ritual unfolds, this unlikely group of five embarks on a week of beautiful, terrifying experiences that all culminate in one perfect truth: In the end, your soul is stronger than your burdens.
– Goodreads

 

Waiting on Wednesday: The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

width=

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine

∞ ϟ 9¾ ♔ ⚯͛ △⃒⃘ ➵ ♆

My ‘waiting on’ pick this week is:

 

Book Title: The Darkest Part of the Forest

Author: Holly Black

Publication Date: 13/1/2015

 

Children can have a cruel, absolute sense of justice. Children can kill a monster and feel quite proud of themselves. A girl can look at her brother and believe they’re destined to be a knight and a bard who battle evil. She can believe she’s found the thing she’s been made for.Hazel lives with her brother, Ben, in the strange town of Fairfold where humans and fae exist side by side. The faeries’ seemingly harmless magic attracts tourists, but Hazel knows how dangerous they can be, and she knows how to stop them. Or she did, once.

At the center of it all, there is a glass coffin in the woods. It rests right on the ground and in it sleeps a boy with horns on his head and ears as pointed as knives. Hazel and Ben were both in love with him as children. The boy has slept there for generations, never waking.

Until one day, he does…

As the world turns upside down, Hazel tries to remember her years pretending to be a knight. But swept up in new love, shifting loyalties, and the fresh sting of betrayal, will it be enough?
– Goodreads