February Wrap Up

     
Yup I re-read 1-6 Harry Potter book oh yeah

 

Let’s talk: Reading books written in your first language
QOTW: Divergent
January Wrap Up
Let’s Talk: Writing a book review
QOTW: Harry Potter
Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Book Related Problems I Have
Waiting on Wednesday: The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne
Book Discussion: Pivot Point by Kasie West

 

I had 2 weeks of holiday! How can it not be great lol

I went overseas with my family during the Lunar New Year holiday and had a GREAT time (except the fact that I have tons of homework and past papers to do). Hmm… other than that, there’re honestly not that much happening in the month of February. Just the usual ‘school is drowning me’ and ‘SLEEEEEP’ lifestyle.

 

Music:

I’ve been loving the ‘Relax & Unwind’ playlist on Spotify cuz I needa chill B)

Movie:

It must be really difficult to turn such a unique book into movie. If you’ve read it, you’ll know what I mean. I wouldn’t say that the movie is brilliant, but it’s okay I guess.

If you want to read my book discussion on this book, click here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love this cartoon so much. No wonder why it won the Oscars.

 

 

 

 

 

 

∞ ϟ 9¾ ♔ ⚯͛ △⃒⃘ ➵ ♆

 

Book Discussion: Pivot Point by Kasie West

Book Title: Pivot Point

Author: Kasie West

Genre: YA Sci-fi, Fantasy

★★★★

Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she can look into the future and see both outcomes. It’s the ultimate insurance plan against disaster. Or so she thought. When Addie’s parents ambush her with the news of their divorce, she has to pick who she wants to live with—her father, who is leaving the paranormal compound to live among the “Norms,” or her mother, who is staying in the life Addie has always known. Addie loves her life just as it is, so her answer should be easy. One Search six weeks into the future proves it’s not.

In one potential future, Addie is adjusting to life outside the Compound as the new girl in a Norm high school where she meets Trevor, a cute, sensitive artist who understands her. In the other path, Addie is being pursued by the hottest guy in school—but she never wanted to be a quarterback’s girlfriend. When Addie’s father is asked to consult on a murder in the Compound, she’s unwittingly drawn into a dangerous game that threatens everything she holds dear. With love and loss in both lives, it all comes down to which reality she’s willing to live through . . . and who she can’t live without.
– Goodreads

 
I don’t recommend reading it (especially the ending) just before bed. Although the story doesn’t sound scary at all right now, it creeps you out when you’re reading it.

[If you haven’t read it yet, don’t scroll down. You can’t get spoiled, especially for this book.]

 

The Plot

I swore that I’m going to give it a 3 stars when I’m halfway through the book. Sure, the idea of the Search is fun, but it was quite disappointing as I thought this was going to be an intense sci-fi/paranormal book.
However, the last couple of chapters proved me wrong. I was absorbed in the story and it felt so real.
It was almost 12 am and I was in the toilet brushing my teeth. I was reading the part where Poison kind of took control over Addie’s nervous system and then Bobby locked her in. It was REALLY creepy *shivers*
I guess I shouldn’t have set my expectations that high. The plot wasn’t as epic as I thought it would be, but it’s satisfying.

 

 

The Search

Do you want this superpower? It’s quite useless since you couldn’t change the future, but at least you could take the other path.
It’d be quite creepy though, knowing what would’ve happened (or what will). If I don’t have a friend who can erase my memory, I don’t think I’d enjoy having this power haha.

 

Generally speaking, Pivot Point is quite an interesting book, though I’ve expected more of a memorable and epic story. Anyway, I’d definitely read the sequel later on. What do you think?

 

∞ ϟ 9¾ ♔ ⚯͛ △⃒⃘ ➵ ♆

 

Waiting on Wednesday: The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

width=

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine

∞ ϟ 9¾ ♔ ⚯͛ △⃒⃘ ➵ ♆

My ‘waiting on’ pick this week is:

 

Book Title: The Wrong side of Right

Author: Jenn Marie Thorne

Publication Date: 17/3/2015

 

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin.

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.
– Goodreads

 

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Book Related Problems I Have


Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

∞ ϟ 9¾ ♔ ⚯͛ △⃒⃘ ➵ ♆

1. Ever-growing TBR Pile

I guess most of us have this problem. If you don’t –

 

2. Waiting for the next book

That moment when you finish a great book and you have to wait for A YEAR for the sequel

 

3. Deciding what to read next

Should I read sci-fi or fantasy?

 

4. Reading slump

Worst feeling ever

5. I HAVE to review the book before starting a new one

I wrote about it here.

WHY DO I HAVE SUCH BAD MEMORY

I can’t think of any more right now.

Hope you enjoy it and I’ll see you in another post!

 
∞ ϟ 9¾ ♔ ⚯͛ △⃒⃘ ➵ ♆
 

Let’s Talk: Writing a book review

I don’t know if I’m weird, but:

1) I HAVE to write the review before starting a new book

If I don’t, I’d forget my thoughts and feelings on the story. Unfortunately, this happened recently

   

I managed to write a couple of sentences for these books, but failed to write a full Discussion post 😦

 

2) It takes a REALLY long time for me to write a decent review

I usually do it in the following procedures:

1. Read and take notes

2. Expand and link the ‘notes’

3. Read others’ review to see if there’s something I agree with them but forgot to mention

4. Check for mistakes

The 2nd step requires the longest time. With the problem mentioned in 1), my ‘reading rate’ decreases significantly (LOL)

 

And that explains why I haven’t been posting Book Discussion posts lately. Currently I’m working on the review for Pivot Point, as well as marathoning the Harry Potter Series. (Errm maybe I shouldn’t do that. Not again.)

Anyway, how do you write your reviews? Do you have the same problem as I have?

 

∞ ϟ 9¾ ♔ ⚯͛ △⃒⃘ ➵ ♆

 

January Wrap Up

Oops sorry for the very late wrap-up 😛

I read one book (yes one only) throughout the month. I guess I’m in a pretty huge reading slump 😦


The Best of 2014 
December Wrap Up
Plans for 2015 
Waiting on Wednesday: Cut Me Free by J.R. Johansson 
Taipei Book Haul
Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten 2014 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To 
Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award 
DIY LED Foldable Bookmark / Booklight 
Waiting on Wednesday: The Third Twin by C.J. Omololu 
How do you picture the characters when you’re reading? 
Waiting on Wednesday: Read Between the Lines by Jo Knowles 

I suck at keeping new year resolutions.

I’d even printed out the ‘Don’t Break The Chain’ Calendar, but it didn’t stop me from slacking off – I did 2 days of exercise, 2 days of blogging and 0 days of programming (what a great start haha).

Anyway, January was quite a busy month. There were loads of test and I managed to survive the parent’s day (whoohoo!). I got pretty good grades – better than what I’d expected 😀 Thanks to the studyspo community in Tumblr, I managed to stay motivated.

There wasn’t anything exciting happened in Jan tbh…. It’s just the old school routine, so there isn’t much for me to write 😛

Music:

Yup. Still listening to this. I love this album, although quite a lot of people hate Taylor for changing her style.

 

∞ ϟ 9¾ ♔ ⚯͛ △⃒⃘ ➵ ♆