Book discussion: Rebel


Book Title: Rebel

Author: Amy Tintera

Genre: YA Sci-fi/Dystopian

★★★★★

The sequel to the action-packed Reboot is a can’t-miss thrill ride, perfect for fans of James Patterson, Veronica Roth, and Marie Lu.After coming back from death as Reboots and being trained by HARC as soldiers, Wren and Callum have finally escaped north, where they hope to find a life of freedom. But when they arrive at the Reboot Reservation, it isn’t what they expected. Under the rule of a bloodthirsty leader, Micah, the Reboots are about to wage an all-out war on the humans. Although Wren’s instincts are telling her to set off into the wilderness on their own and leave the battle far behind, Callum is unwilling to let his human family be murdered. When Micah commits the ultimate betrayal, the choice is made for them. But Micah has also made a fatal mistake . . . he’s underestimated Wren and Callum.

The explosive finale to the Reboot duology is full of riveting action and steamy love scenes as Wren and Callum become rebels against their own kind.
– Goodreads

 
[This is a sequel to Reboot so if you haven’t read Reboot yet, please don’t spoil yourself.]

It’s a DUOLOGY not a trilogy. WOW. It surprised me. This book is EPIC. THRILLING. And the ending is beautiful. Tintera did a really good job wrapping up the story.

Rebel is better than Reboot, as you can see from my ratings. I usually have trouble enjoying books with duo/multiple pov, but it turned out alright this time. I was worried that either Wren or Callum would die, because

*SPOILER FOR ALLEGIANT*

Tris dies in Allegiant and that’s one of the reasons why Veronica Roth wrote the book in duo pov.

*SPOILER DONE*

I got to the point where Callum was shot and I saw chapter thirty-nine Callum’s BLANK. And I was like ‘NO NO HE CAN’T DIE THIS IS NOT HAPPENING’ (sorry for all the caps) I thought he was dead and it turned out that he is shot in the eye. (Phew)

The character development, again, is well done. Callum leads the Reboots with the absence of Wren and learns that his number doesn’t define himself. Wren, too, forgets about her number towards the end of the book. Wren refuses to kill Officer Mayer- she tells herself that she won’t kill someone just because she could. To her, killing Micah’s not even a victory. She changes from a ‘killer’ under HARC’s control to a girl who doesn’t even want to carry a gun.

By the way, I can’t decide which cover is better, Reboot or Rebel. I like both colour combinations and the futuristic designs. *Pat the book*

On the whole, this book is REALLY GOOD. Things keep happening and I flew through it quickly. This is probably one of the best sci-fi books I’ve read this year.

If you’ve read the series, what do you think? Do you like Rebel more than Reboot, or vice versa?

Advertisements

One thought on “Book discussion: Rebel

  1. Pingback: Sunathon Wrap up | Booklover

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s