Book discussion: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children


  Book Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

  Author: Ransom Riggs

  Genre: YA Fantasy

  ★★★★★

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs.It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

– Goodreads

 

This book had been on my tbr list for a very long time but I never got the opportunity to purchase it, so I was pretty excited when I found it in the library. I flipped open the book, and was immediately pulled into the world.

I didn’t know what to expect when I first heard about this book. I thought it was a story about an orphan in a ghost house or something. However, it turned out to be a gripping, amazing story. The idea of the loops and the peculiar children is very interesting and I LOVE how photos are included in the book. My friends were like ‘What is that you’re reading? A horror book?’ No, I wouldn’t say it’s a horror book, but there are horror elements in it. The description about the monsters are so vivid it gives me chills.

There was a part where Dr. Golan was on the phone with Jacob and he said he was in the airport picking up his sister. I immediately knew that he was going for Jacob. However, other than that, the story is pretty unpredictable. Jacob did remind me of Percy Jackson and Emma was Annabeth, but the concept of the story made it different from PJO.

My favourite quote from this book is

‘Stars, too, were time travelers. How many of those ancient points of light were the last echoes of suns now dead? How many had been born but their light not yet come this far? If all the suns but ours collapsed tonight, how many lifetimes would it take us to realize we were alone? I had always known the sky was full of mysteries—but not until now had I realized how full of them the earth was.’

Looking at the sky is like looking back in history. I always find it fascinating as I’ll be looking at the past.

So that’s basically my thoughts on this book. This discussion is pretty short, I know, but I enjoyed every single part of this book and has nothing to rant about it. I CAN’T WAIT to read hollow city. So many books, so little time. (<- First world problem)

For those who’ve read this book, how do you feel? Comment down below your thoughts!

Oh, and I have a new twitter account https://twitter.com/nbooklovern   Follow me! 🙂

One thought on “Book discussion: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Leave a Reply

